Mobile Phone News

I think I’m in trouble

By Stefan Constantinescu on Wednesday, May 16th, 2007 at 2:11 pm PST In Random

I shouldn’t be blogging from work, but this is a big one:

Dear Customer,

We are contacting you regarding the possible cancellation of your privacy service for RINGNOKIA.COM.

We have received notice that there is a potential legal issue with this domain regarding copyright and trademark infringement and as such, you will need to contact the complainant listed below in this case for more information on this matter.  We will verify that contact has been made no later than 2 PM (PST) 5/21/07.  Failure to contact the complainant and if needed provide your contact information will result in the cancellation of your privacy service for the domain in question.  We apologize that we are not able to be of further assistance in this matter at this time.

Complainant information,

Robert S. Weisbein, Esq.
DARBY & DARBY P.C.
rweisbein@Darbylaw.com
212-527-7715

Kindest Regards,
Deborah Real
Office of the General Manager
Domains by Proxy, Inc.

Oh snap! I’ll let you guys know what happens. I went ahead and contacted Robert.

  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • TwitThis
  • StumbleUpon

Related News from IntoMobile

17 reader comments on “I think I’m in trouble”

  1. xtina says:

    Wow that sucks, hope it all works out. If it doesn’t, you can always be Ring Nckia (or not).

  2. Bazza says:

    Good luck mate.

    I hope you didn’t kill someone’s mom and then joke about it on here. lol

  3. PhoneBoy says:

    Ew! Hopefully Nokia isn’t hassling you.

  4. JaXX says:

    Who is DarbyLaw anyways ? some kind of “Launch complaints and see people pee in their pants” company which says they have IP rights on everything before everyone ?

    Dang… I wonder what a “Hey Rob, what’s all this about?” would do :)

  5. lutzs says:

    I’m sure it’s because the N81 and N82 pics…
    And tell him his website is shit: http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fdarbylaw.com

  6. Phil says:

    I’m just taking a guess here, but - This is not from Nokia. Nokia has their own legal team internally, I seriously doubt they’d outsource to a couple clowns named “Darby & Darby”.

  7. Greg says:

    I got one of these letters once with my domain name because it shared 2 letters in common with some hotel in France. They gave up once they realized that I was just a person using my domain to keep track of my dynamic IP, lol. However this law firm represents some big companies.

    http://www.darbylaw.com/about/clientlist.asp

    So maybe some trouble. :(

  8. cybette says:

    I’m with Phil, I don’t think this is from Nokia, even though they listed Nokia in their client list.

    Check these out:
    http://www.lessig.org/blog/archives/untitled.txt
    http://www.lessig.org/blog/archives/001230.shtml

    “The real villians of this piece seem to be Darby & Darby, who have a track record of doing this sort of thing.”

    I’d be quite appalled if it was really Nokia behind this…

  9. Apocalypsoâ„¢ says:

    HUH, I have had similar problems and I was really close to quit SF project beacuse of the similiar problems.

    I’m with you bro, that’s all 4 now.. . .

    Wishh U luck.. . . .

    Teo

  10. Hakeem says:

    That sucks! Oh well..change it to ringcensored.com ! Haha. Joking. Anyway, good luck!

  11. Random Finn says:

    Many seem to think (even though jokingly) that this has something to do with the URL of ringnokia.com.

    As far as I can understand, that’s not necessarily the case. It seems that this domain was registered with a privacy service that only shows the contact information of Domains by Proxy Inc. in the whois records. As Darby & Darby apparently had some issue with this site or its contents, they did a whois search and contacted Domains by Proxy who then forwarded the message to the actual owner, Stefan. It could just be some random image or piece of information they are after, not necessarily the URL.

    Anyways, let’s hope that Nokia has nothing to do with this as it would indeed be embarassing. Good luck, keep us posted!

  12. geekonimus says:

    i agree with Random Finn.

    and you gotta love Stefan’s spirit …. “Uh oh I think I’m in trouble … btw here are some spyshots of new nokia phones…” ;P

    BLOG LONG AND PROSPER my friend…more power to you

  13. romeo26 says:

    dang…those darby people seem like they are lower then DMV workers. yes iam slandering there name, soo what, i would like to see them try to sue me!!! but you should email nokia if they have any thing to do with darby & darby. if they do just say that your a kia bloger (for goodnes sakes) and just say that its ring no kia (just say its a inside joke with friends)!!!

  14. Darby & Darby says:

    You will be contacted shortly.

  15. Darby & Darby says:

    You will be contacted shortly.

  16. Darby & Darby says:

    You will be contacted shortly.

  17. Dimilaz says:

    We are with you Stefan!
    Keep us posted

What are your thoughts? Leave a comment...

How do I change my avatar?
Go to gravatar.com and upload your preferred avatar.